Challenger Series Invitational

- January 6-7, 2018 -





1 - Goonies
2 - Purple Ponies

Final Score:

3/4 - Eastern Blocks
3/4 - What up
5/8 - Toronto Blues
5/8 - The Blockers
5/8 - Balkan Bounce
5/8 - The Retired


1 - Unity Reign
2 - Heat

Final Score:

3/4 - Prime
3/4 - Chargers
5/8 - Celtique
5/8 - Fuego
5/8 - Pink Heat
5/8 - Rye

Rosters - MEN

1 - Purple Ponies

Eric Simon
Reid Halpenny
Ciaran Mcgovern
Matt Poulin
Sander Ratsep
Alex Elliott
Mike Trout
Justin Scapinello

2 - The Goonies

Joey Jarvis
Jordan Darlington
Jorell Miller
Pedja Gajic
Matty McGirr
Nathaniel Virgo
Will Oyetakin
Jasmin Cull

3 - Eastern Blocks

Paul Jakubiak
Marko Dakic
Oleg Kovalchuk
Joshua Ross
Phil James
Gregory Ivan
Reed May
George Sakvarelidze
Dan Dearing

4 - What Up

Adam Garbe
Brendan Wrana
Chad Hunter
Chris McLaughlin
Gabriel Bruzzese
Hani Fadali
Louay El-Charif
Parish Offer
Adam Scheidel

5 - Balkan Bounce

Nikola Dimitrijevic
Dave Hamilton
Milan Ristic
Marko Milenkovic
Marc Reardon
Jeremy Hoekstra
Mihailo Cvetkovic
Paul Rapos

6 - The Retired

Kevin Chien
John Pham
Jeremy Fantin
Patryk Andula
Andrew Henry
Ebbas Dugassa
Jordan Murray
Harrison Wood
Jason Yeung

7 - Toronto Blues

Alex Park
Michael Denton
Aidan Haslett
Tom Chen
Steven Khuu
Mitchell Woodside
Will Colucci

8 - The Blockers

Braydon Rodgers
Jeff Torvo
Mike Harper
Andrew Watson
Andrew Dube
Piet Kyprus
Eric Jansen
Liam Grey

Rosters - Women

1 - Unity Reign

Jaki Ellis
Steph Neville
Kelly Nyhof
Tesca Wasylik
Ashley Simac
Alley Newman
Natalie Buck
Sam Clarey

2 - Heat

Jolande Amoraal
Carla Bradstock
Rebecca Glancy
Dianna Craine
Kris Dowling
Ali Caitland
Danielle Walker
Maggie Morrison
Landis Doyle

3 - Celtique

Myriam Halle
Melanie Ferron
Catherine Amyot
Valerie Gagnon
Stephanie Gauthier
Sonia Tremblay
Sandra Tremblay
Laurence Sicard

4 - Galaxy Prime

Felicia Jones
Viv Chan
Sam Ainsworth
Alicia Jack
Nico Serratore
Andrea Fisher
Katarina Jovocic
Thinesa Sritharran

5 - Team Fuego

Kristina Vlcek
Sarah Wheatcroft
Sarah Sutton
Lainna Buch
Laura Bye
Lorna Button
Claire Elize

6 - Pink Heat

Ashleigh Andzel
Lisa Wilson
Becky Breau
Alexandria Botelho
Mackenzie Coyle
Amanda Coffey
Maggie Mac

7 - Chargers

Erin Kinsella
Shauna Peddle
Lauren Stirling
Kaila Wiley
Carly Welch
Rachel Titterlli
Julienne McLaughlin

8 - Wave

Bethany Petkoff
Chelsea Jensen
Lynn Danis
Lindsay Veltman
Lauren Veltman
Aleks Steins
Cara Currie

9 - Rye

Heather Bannister
Tiffany Kyryliuk
Angie Dobbs
Jasmine Doyle
Robyn Stafford
Marina Luong
Lauren Smith


2 pools of 4 teams
Best 2/3 matches, start at 0 points, no cap
All teams make play-offs (Sunday)

Saturday: 3 matches per team
Sunday: min. 1 match per team

3 pools of 3 teams
2 matches to 25, start at 4 points, cap at 27

Re-pool into power pools (top 3, middle 3, bottom 3) to re-seed for playoffs (Sunday)


Saturday, January 6
First match: 9:00am
Last match: 3:15pm

Sunday January 7
First match: 10:15am
Semis: 12:45pm
Finals: 2:00pm

Saturday, January 6
First match: 10:00am
Last match: 2:00pm

Sunday January 7
First match: 9:00am (pre-quarters)
Semis: 12:45pm
Finals: 2:00pm


All teams MUST have proper matching uniforms with numbers, and a corresponding libero jersey. 


All matches will have a Referee provided, and teams are required to provide lines persons and score keepers for other matches in their pool. 

Refund Policy:

Teams wishing to withdraw their entry before December 13th will receive a full refund. Teams withdrawing after December 13th will not receive a refund.  

Official ball

Molten Flistatec


Markham Pan Am Sports Centre


16 Main St Unionville, Unionville, ON L3R 2E4


(905) 475-4730



Men's Elite (max 12 teams)
Women's Elite (max 12 teams)


Teams are rated based on an average of your teams' individual experience.  

ONE Volleyball reserves the right to accept teams based on their experience in order to preserve an elite competition environment.


Total tournament purse: $3,000

1st place in each division: $1,500
2nd place in each division: Molten Prize

Prize money is based on 12 teams or more in each division. 


All NEW athletes must sign the online waiver prior to playing in the tournament. Athletes only need to sign this once for all ONE Volleyball events in 2017.


Invitation RSVP Deadline: December 1, 2017

Early bird: $400/team ends December 15, 2017

Entry Fee: $440/team
Deadline to register: December 27, 2017 at midnight

Please note: this is an invitational event. ONE Volleyball reserves the right to accept or refuse teams based on remaining entries available after invitations have been accepted (see timeline above). Please contact us if you have any questions about this process.


Full team rosters must be submitted by the tournament registration deadline. 

Roster size is unlimited.

Athletes must have competed in 1 pool play match on Saturday in order to be eligible to play on Sunday.

Payment options:

Registrants may either pay by credit card online via our REGISTER button (subject to a 6% merchant processing fee which brings the entry fee to $424.00), or e-transfer standard entry fee ($400) to

Payments must be received in full before the deadline in order to participate in the event. 


Payment must be made in full prior to registration deadline, midnight of December 27, 2017. 


Volleyball Canada rules apply, with the addition of the USAV serving rule for Libero's (see below), and unlimited subs. Teams may dress and use 2 libero's per match.

Libero Serving Rule

ONE Volleyball has adapted the USAV serving rule for libero's.

Basic overview: The libero may serve for one athlete only in a set, and does not have to exit the court for a rally after leaving position 5, to go and serve in position 1.

The libero may, but is not required to serve for that athlete in all subsequent rotations. 

View past Challenger Events